Jennifer Wylie Interview – Talented & inspirational newly published writer

Posted: December 8, 2010 in author, Fantasy novels, Jennifer Wylie
Tags: , , , ,


 

I first had the pleasure of meeting Jennifer Wylie through the Twitter webiverse, at this point she was waiting for some clever publisher to snap her up. Friendly and encouraging, she always offers great advice and is still bubbly and jolly when she has the flu!!  You can imagine how delighted I am that she has agreed to talk to us about her writing journey and the forthcoming release of her amazing short story, JUMP.


What was your favourite / most inspiring writers’ guide?

I’ve never actually used a writing guide. However Google is my friend for any questions I may have. Luckily I’ve become quite adept at using it properly so I don’t have to wade through pages of non-relevant material. 🙂 I    find it helpful both in looking up technical aspects of writing, as well as in researching.

I’ve also been lucky the last few months to meet some amazing authors on twitter. They have all been a wonderful support, not only encouraging my writing but answering any questions I may have.

What is the best piece of advice you have been given as a writer?

That would be to never be too nice to your characters. You can’t have EVERYTHING go right for them and still have an interesting story. You need things to go wrong, you need hardship and conflict. The more the merrier. 🙂


What is the best piece of advice you can give to other aspiring authors?

Always keep writing. You can always improve, and practice helps this. Not only do you need to know how to write, but to edit. Research editing online, make sure you are using correct grammar and punctuation, be wary of being repetitive in your word use. If you can find readers or editors to go over your work then use them. Fresh eyes are always helpful.

If you are searching for a publisher I definitely recommend you create a web presence. Most either require this or it is an added bonus. Have a website, Twitter, Facebook, blog. Even if you aren’t published yet you can gain followers over time. It is also an excellent way to meet authors, agents and publishers.

What do you enjoy reading? Which books have helped you develop your craft?

I love reading anything fantasy. If there is some romance involved I’m extra happy LOL. (I’m a romantic girl, what can I say) I suppose all reading has helped, with every book you pick up a little something.

Tell us briefly about your publishing journey?

Before I signed on with Echelon and had been querying agents I lost count of my rejections over the year and half I was sending them out. Certainly over 50, perhaps even 100. I didn’t let it get me down. Obviously I query wasn’t good enough (so I kept rewriting). The problem is getting someone interested enough to want to read more, hard to do in so few words!

This past summer I read about Echelon Press online and found them interesting. I started following them on Twitter and had some nice tweets with Karen there and also in a comments section on another’s blog. I checked out the publishers website, and also the books they’d published so far and thought they would be a great publisher for me. I submitted my novel, as well as two short stories. After a few months of waiting (the waiting is always the hardest!) I received contracts for both of my shorts in mid-September. Near the end of September I got one for my novel as well. Since then there has been more waiting and editing. I’m quite excited for my work to be coming out soon!

Short Story Blurb: Jump

If you were told to jump off of a bridge would you? Perhaps it would depend on who was doing the asking. Our heroine has spunk and a sense of humor, however suffers from an extreme case of inappropriate clothing. When things take a turn from dangerous to worse what will she do when fantasy becomes reality? Warning: May include hot leather clad men, singing and demons.

Jennifer’s short story, Jump will be coming out in eBook for December 15 2010.

Pre-order Jump by following this link:      https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-jump-493574-234.html

 

Her second short, The Forgotten Echo will be released March 1 2011.

In addition, Jennifer’s novel, Sweet Light, will be coming out in May 2011.

 

Author Bio

Jennifer Wylie was born and raised in Ontario, Canada. In a cosmic twist of fate she dislikes the snow and cold.

Before settling down to raise a family, she attained a BA from Queens University and worked in retail and sales.

Thanks to her mother, she acquired a love of books at an early age and began writing in public school. She constantly has stories floating around in her head, and finds it amazing most people don’t. Jennifer writes various forms of fantasy, both novels and short stories. Sweet light is her debut novel to be published in 2011.

Jennifer resides in rural Ontario, Canada with her husband, two boys, an Australian shepherd, a flock of birds and a disagreeable amount of wildlife.

 

Website: www.jenniferwylie.ca

Blog: http://jlwylie.wordpress.com/

Comments
  1. jlwylie says:

    Thanks so much for having me!!
    It was such a pleasure to be on your blog!
    Happy writing!!

  2. No problem sweetie, it’s a pleasure. I will be posting your link today. All the best

Leave a Reply

